

Monday, Nov. 9, 2015

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Organization: <u>MU Graduate Professional Council</u> Contact: <u>gpc@missouri.edu</u>

A LETTER ON THE OCCASION OF TIM WOLFE'S RESIGNATION

Dear students, faculty, staff, and Columbia community,

Our campus has been in turmoil for some time. Surrounding Tim Wolfe's resignation as President of the University of Missouri System, attention has been drawn to festering issues that reside systemically within this institution of higher education.

The Graduate Professional Council executive board is proud of the activism of the University of Missouri Campus community, and particularly proud of the spirit and leadership demonstrated by students.

It is now crucial that our collective momentum be translated into a focus on policy and a focus on changing the campus climate. These are large endeavors that will require effort, introspection, and critical engagement from all campus community members. The Graduate Professional Council is eager to support our students, our staff, our faculty, and our administrators in forging these new paths. GPC is particularly eager to work with System and campus administrators in order to enact lasting, formalized policy changes that impact not only MU, but UMSL, Missouri S&T, and UMKC. Examples of policies we wish to enact include, but are not limited to:

- **Hiring** a System-level VP of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion to oversee diversity on all four campuses.
- **Requiring** the Board of Curators to allot time in their meetings to discuss the cultural climate on each institution, including reports from the VP of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, to promote pro-actionary rather than reactionary strategic planning.
- Strengthening student representation on the Board of Curators: affording the Student Representative to the Board of Curators one vote on the Board as proposed by the Associated Students of the University of Missouri (ASUM) in <u>HB1011</u> during the 2015 Legislative Session.

Sincerely,

Hallie J. Thompson	Rachel E. Bauer	E. Alex Howe
President	Vice President	Treasurer
Aashish Jagini	Yue Hao	Matt McCune
Secretary	Dir. of Programming	Dir. of Communication
Katie Steen	Laura Satkowski	
Dir. of National Affairs	Dir. of State Affairs	